Blessing Bags

20131103-194315.jpg
I saw this idea for blessing bags to give to the homeless on Pinterest a while back, and I couldn’t not make some. The bags are simple one-gallon storage bags filled with travel size toiletries and other items that would be a blessing to someone who is homeless and asking for help.

It always breaks my heart when I don’t have change to give or when I feel uncomfortable fishing cash out of my purse on the street. With these pre-made bags, I can be a blessing to someone who really needs it for a few days at the least.

Here what I put in mine, but, if you’re inspired to make your own, feel free to give whatever you think would be helpful and comforting to someone who is down on their luck.

Blessing Bags:
Travel Toothbrush
Toothpaste
Mouthwash
Shampoo & Conditoner
Bar Soap
Body Wash
Mini First Aid Kit
Q-Tips
Anti-Bacterial Hand Cleaner
Individual Wet Wipes
Tissue Packs
Ibuprofen
Chapstick
Vaseline
Jif Peanut Butter To-Go
Tuna/ Chicken Salad Kits
Fig Newtons
Peanut Butter Crackers
Cheese Crackers
Applesauce
Altoids
Vitamin C Drops
Cough Drops

What other items do you think would be good to include in my next round of Blessing Bags?

20131103-194327.jpg

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Blessing Bags

  1. Jen says:

    This is an awesome idea!!

  2. Such a great idea! Something that can be donated at shelters and homeless people you encounter on the street. Granola bars would be good to add as well :) Thanks for posting!

  3. SJ says:

    this is great! I thought of doing something similar myself when I saw an HBO special on real life “super hero’s” who gave toilet paper and toilette wipes to homeless people they encountered on the streets. I never went through with it but you have inspired me again. :)

  4. Blaque Olive says:

    I saw something like this too the other day. I would make one with all natural items. Home-made tooth powder, shea butter, African black soap, maybe even some spices like cayenne pepper and a recipe card for making an easy raw vegan meal they can make without cooking.

  5. K.Brame says:

    Ty for this post. This was very encouraging and a confirmation for my husband and I. This is something we have wanted to do for the longest. God Bless!

  6. Nikki says:

    Don’t forget the water :)

    • K. Ophelia says:

      I try to keep some bottles to give away, but keeping them in the car during summer hear is so iffy, I hesitate to do so. I guess it’s not as bad as being dehydrated though. I’m torn =\

talk to us!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,724 other followers

